Egg Grades & Sizes

Eggs are graded according to egg weight and not egg size. All my eggs comply with the New Zealand egg standards and grades set by the Egg Producers Federation of New Zealand Code of Practice 2002. Eggs must equal or exceed the minimum weight for each grade as listed below.

Egg Size     Minimum Weight Per Egg
Standard (6)            53g
Large (7)                 62g
Jumbo (8)                68g

To give you a helping hand when shopping, we have colour coded our packs by egg size to make them quick and easy to find:

Standard (Grade 6) - Blue
Large (Grade 7) - Red

Jumbo (Grade 8) - Green  


To avoid cooking disasters or "getting egg on your face" - here's a guide to help you to choose the Farmer Brown egg size that will meet your needs.

For everyday use choose Farmer Brown Standard Grade 6 eggs, they're my blue coloured packs.

Variety is the spice of life - so alternate between using Farmer Brown Standard Grade 6 eggs and Farmer Brown Large Grade 7's every now and again. You can't miss the bright red pack!

And for those with BIG appetites choose Farmer Brown Jumbo Grade 8 eggs - they'll knock your socks right off!


Most baking recipes are based on using large-sized eggs. The success or failure is down to a tricky formula in which it's important to maintain the proper proportion of liquid to dry ingredients and to have enough whole egg, white or yolk to perform the needed function. If you find you don't have the correct size egg in the house then use this handy substitution chart to help you:-

Size equivalents:

Large (7) Jumbo (8) Medium (6)
1 1 1
2 2 2
3 2 3
4 3 5
5 4 6
6 5 7

So, for example, if a recipe calls for 6 Medium eggs, you can use 5 Large or 4 Jumbo eggs if those are to hand.

To fill 1 cup:

Egg Size Whole Whites Yolks
Jumbo (8) 4 5 11
Large (7) 5 7 14
Medium (6) 5 8 16